Take care when shaking hands with Seniors.

In recent years, I have noticed that some people have the habit of giving an extra squeeze at the end of their hand shake. Probably I have noticed this lately because I have developed some arthritis in my hands. That extra squeeze causes some pain, to the point that I have begun to hesitate shaking hands. 

A firm handshake does not seem to be a problem; it is that extra squeeze that hurts. I think that people who give an extra squeeze with their handshakes do it to show that they are sincere. I have noticed that most of the ‘extra squeezers’ are men, however there are some women who have this habit.

Have any other seniors experienced this problem?

Leave a Reply

